HRENDEIT

 

St. John's Fortress


St. John's Fortress was built in 1646 in less than two months at the beginning of the Cretan War, according to Antonio Leni's plan, a Venetian military engineer.

 

St. John's Fortress was built in 1646 in less than two months at the beginning of the Cretan War, according to Antonio Leni's plan, a Venetian military engineer.

A year later, in 1647, there were hard battles with the army of the Ottoman Techieli-pasha, as he wanted to capture the fortress to rule the city.

The fortress has a star-shaped ground plan, and on the north side it is reinforced by a plier-shaped outwork – tenaille (in Italian: tanaglia) after which the name Tanaja is often used by citizens of Šibenik.

The fortress was adapted and strengthened several times during the second half of the 17th century.




3600 Panorama

 

Open 360 city view

Sibenik Travel
Mobile application

 

On the Šibenik Travel website you can find available private accommodation in Sibenik and its surroundings.

Learn more at: www.sibenik.travel

A children's guide

 

Get acquainted with the content of the Child Guides and explore together with the children of his interest.


More on www.djecjivodic.org